I don’t want to be camping anymore

Kitchen is installed, for the most part, that is.
We have a working fridge and working ovens (2). Freezer is in place but not working yet as water still needs to be taken to it (for the icecube maker)
The stove is working but not yet installed, It is sitting atop the kitchen block on some blocks. The installation person took pity on me, when I told him that all that restaurant food and oodles of peanut butter sandwiches were getting to me and made it work safely for me.

Now we have had to stop installation for a week as we are waiting for the kitchen top to be delivered. It was measured in today and it takes a week to process. It will arrive on Wednesday next week. Until then at least we are cooking on a stove. However we have no water nearby other than in the toilet or two floors up in the bathroom. My dishwasher is not yet connected hence I still need to do the dishes by hand in the sink in the bathroom (2 floors up).
So when we are making dinner we are now running up and down the stairs, which of course is great exercise, but also rather inconvenient. It feels like camping in the house. We have stuff everywhere that should be in the kitchen. And I remember also why I love having a dishwasher.

If all is according to the latest plan the kitchen will be finished by next Friday. I can’t wait This has been the longest caming trip in years.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Moving and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I don’t want to be camping anymore

  1. Gilraen says:

    ingemaresmam wrote on Oct 1, ’09
    and yes… it is so beautiful (already)!

Leave a Reply

