Mucking about

We are working our way to a normal routine again This of course means that on Sunday we head out by bike (me) and SO runs. We started a bit late this afternoon due to an appointment we had.
So it was close to 4pm when we started.
Weather was still nice so I was wearing my new long sleeved hot pink sports shirt and according to SO looking rather becoming in it.

So off we went. SO had roughly sketched our route, which included a little guesstimate on where to go. We both thought it would be fine. We suspected there would be a path along the motorway there. Well and of course there was. Not quite what we had anticipated, but a path there was.

The path lead us straight into a little forested area. It was not paved, but as it had been dry it was full of leaves and quite dry. Relatively easy to walk and cycle on. I yelled to SO; “Just remember not to take this path after a rainfall it would become a mud flood”. he agreed.
We had not anticipated that it would also be ‘hilly’ meaning that the ground rose up quite steeply for by about 35m. This happened twice. Nothing major to worry about, just a little unexpected.
The only drawback of going up, of course, is the going down part. Specifically if this is on the not-so-dry side of the hill.
SO signaled to be careful and I was. I even thought I should really have a mountain bike for riding this type of track. And really I should have, as once I started slipping and sliding, I slided to one side, two side, ground side and almost fell. I was still standing my bike hanging between my legs and me standing there thinking if I move one mm I am going to loose my balance. SO asked if I was OK, yes I was. Could I move and my answer was Oh I can, but not without toppling over. In the mean time whilst I was looking at the dirt at an awkward angle a mountain biker (a real one) arrived at the top of the hill. Looking down in bemusement thinking; What is this woman doing with this weird bike biting the muck. After what seemed like eternity but really was less than 20 seconds, SO took hold of the bike and down we went walking to safer, less slippery grounds.

Once on safe grounds again we ended up having to take a huge amount of muck from my bike. The mulch and leaves got stuck between the wheel and the wheel protectors. My wheels completely blocked. We spent 10 minutes making my bike ride-able again. By that stage we were cold!. We went home from there and took a hot bath to warm up again. But is was one adventure, just outside our own backyard.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mucking about

  1. Gilraen says:

    netheandersen wrote on Oct 26, ’09
    What a ride!

Leave a Reply

