Roasted

This weekend I ventured into the world of cooking again. Nothing too refined but rustic good hearty food.
On Saturday I roasted a piece of pork and used fat rashers as there was not enough fat on the meat itself. With it I roasted bottle pumpkin (or rather what the anglo saxons call a butternut) with red onion, sweet potato, parsnip and garlic. I only used half of what I had bought, it was way too much. I used the duck fat we had left over form the dinner we’d had the previous week with toyotomi and his wife. We’d made them canard a l’orange hence the duck fat in my fridge. I should add that this was an exquisite combination.
Anyway SO was absolutely bowled away and asked why I had never made that before.
I explained to him that in the past I have had some issues with roast vegetables as it does take some practice to get the time/temperature curve right. If not right they are not roasted enough or black and inedible. But these were a smashing success. Therefore they’d become a bit of a scary/confidence issue for me.

Of course I had vegetables left over and kept them in the fridge. It is not a dished one really can cook well in small amounts. Then I roasted the remainder of the vegetables that I had not roasted yet today. I roasted some chicken legs with it and we had those for lunch.

All roasted vegetables where then added to 1.5 l of vegetable stock and pureed to make the most wonderful thick homemade roasted pumpkin and garlic soup. Served with some Creme Fraiche it was delicious. Given that the weather is decidedly autumny with rain and wind it was a perfect meal for this weekend. But most of all it gave my roasting confidence a boost. Another cooking confidence builder for me.

So this is turning into a true homely weekend despite the fact that SO had to work most of it. Somehow the rustic meals made that it was not bad at all. And going all out cooking gave me a lot of inner peace as well.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Food, Friends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

