Danish delight

had the most wonderful weekend in Denmark. Relaxing environment, great company and lots of creative juices.
Let’s start at the start. I flew to Copenhagen on the evening flight. It was delayed by about an hour. This was due to the cabin crew being stuck in Rome. They were stuck because the cabin pressure had not risen. Whoa glad I was not on that plane.
So when I finally arrived in Copenhagen. Trine was there and it was just wonderful to see her. We were immediately chatting like it had been only yesterday since we had last seen each other instead of 3 years. Basically we did not stop chatting for the best part of the weekend.  We arrived in their apartment and it was already in rest. We talked a little and fell into our respective beds. The cat (slippers) thought it was great. Somebody new to sniff and nibble on. He just turned into the hairdresser of the night. The next morning Tobias was up at his usual time (meaning round 6 am). The apartment is just as it had been described to me. Just even more stylish and pretty.
The day was spent walking around Copenhagen Seeing some fabric stores Buying some stuff I needed having lunch. oh and chat. Early in the afternoon we picked up Tobias from kindergarten and he just beamed when he saw his mother. He looked so utterly cute. In fact he is. We then left for the summerhouse. Trine’s mum picked us up. We had the pizza delivered and we discussed our plans for sewing. We went to be way late. Which we knew the next day when Tobias woke up early

The next day we dropped both males of at Trine’s in-laws and went to Stof og Stil in Roskilde and I think I went to heaven. Not only lots of fabric but also organised lots of fabric. Easy to reach on tables and with good lighting. I want one!, or two. Instead Trine plundered the remnants able and managed to locate more of her curtain fabric and I bought fabric for my christmas table and some wonderful double layer fabric. I will make a picture. On our way back we had lunch at Michael parents place and upon our return the sewing started. Drafting and cutting, thinking and chatting, until late

Sunday we spent most of the day in PJ’s sewing. We made huge progress. Tobias was very sweet.He spent hours at the table with us playing with two spools a safety pin and some other stuff building a car. Trine finished a quilt for Tobias and then started to feel queasy. Early in the evening she started to feel really sick. I felt so sorry for her. Michael took care of her and Tobias but really she was not feeling well.The next morning we traveled back to Copenhagen Trine felt a little better but not good at all. I headed straight for the airport All three had slept poorly and they needed their sleep I felt I could handle an few hours at the airport After all Denmark still has the kroner and I had to get rid of mine. I arrived home late, partially due to missing the fast train back home.

However I had in my suitcase a dress about 75% done and it is wonderful in the making. It was not an easy pattern but I think it is working as I had hoped. Plus I was relaxed and feeling great. The rest int he summer house and the friendly easygoing company had done me a lot of good. I truly loved the weekend. I think it was just what I needed to get over the residual bits of my illness. I know the ending was not what you had anticipated. Get well soon, both to you and Michael. Still thanks Trine and family for allowing me to soak up the peace and calm of Denmark in good company. I promise next time I will bring my SO

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Friends, Holiday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Danish delight

  1. Gilraen says:

    trinewarming wrote on Nov 26, ’09
    I am so glad you had a good time, we certainly did too! (Well, apart from the tummy bug, that is!) We are all up to full speed again now, and life is back to normal. We would love to have you both here for another visit – perhaps in summer next time – the countryside and the city both look heaps prettier then. :o)
    Big hug.
    T

    teraismum wrote on Nov 26, ’09
    I’m so glad you are fit and well and that you had a lovely weekend away. I see the sewing bug has not gone away. I bet you are very accomplished as a sewer these days.

    gilraensurion wrote on Nov 27, ’09
    Have not been sewing the last year that much to be honest. Besides if I am honest Trine is the better sewist – she works much more neat than I do.

  2. Pingback: Nothing to show for it | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

