And they keep falling

Weather has been white, whiter and whitest since my last post. We have in our back garden a heap of about 25cm high on our garden table. Country is locked up and the world has gone very serene. At least that was how it was on Sunday

Children in the neighbourhood made a snowman about 1.70 me high They put the hat (a black bucket) on using a step ladder. It is is really quite impressive. Right next to it a smaller one. Also with a hat. Approximately the form and volume of said large black bucket.
When I walked to the store to buy food I noticed that despite the fact that it was a christmas holiday shopping day that most stores were closed. Not surprised We are so not accustomed to snow getting to over ankle high. Children. were being sledded around by parents not quite stable on their feet and I just enjoyed it all. We had nowhere to go so that was an easy choice. Just as well. Traffic had come to a standstill and trains well, they were not running much.

This morning I decided to walk to work. After walking about 15 minutes I came to the conclusion that I had forgotten some essential stuff, and turned back. Needless to say that with another pack of fresh snow walking was somewhat of an exercise to say the least. Once home SO (who already has a holiday) offered to take me to work. But the car needed to be dug out from under the snow. So I decided to walk to the bus stop. At the bus stop it looked, well, as if no bus would be arriving soon. As the bus has another 2 or 3 stops towards work I decided to walk to the next one and the next. And in the end just walked the whole way there. SO did uncover the car and then took a hot bath to melt all the snow and ice that had formed, oh and to relax and warm up.

It was not until 11 until we had all (the department) arrived at work. Of course there were 2 that felt they could not make it, the woohses, but otherwise we were complete. Strange thing was. We were just about the only department complete. There were few people at work. Granted a lot of people already have the week off but this was ridiculous. Let’s be honest. It was not hopeless and whilst I do appreciate the fact that people were late but at least they tried. Seems like a lot of people gave up without even trying.

Having said all that I decided to cancel a meeting for tomorrow as they trains are not running on schedule. The stretch where near work usually carries 8-10 trains per hour each way. Now it is two. Somehow the train people have decided this is too hard and told everybody to stay away from the trains! C’mon people it is snow! People around the world have dealt with this stuff for a very long time, it is not rocket science.
So I am working from home tomorrow and we’ll see about the next day. I do admit having a job that you can do from home (after you pick up some stuff on Monday) is great. SO will be at home so I am going to be well looked after. And I still love the look of our winter wonderland. We are heading for that wonderful ancient white christmas!

Oh yes on the topic of christmas. We did get a christmas tree this weekend and it is fully built up and looking very pretty!

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And they keep falling

  1. Gilraen says:

    draakje wrote on Dec 22, ’09
    Even though today my baby is expected and the world is covered in snow, I am going to the midwife by bike! It is to beautiful to lock myself up (and so the “new” father can be home in time by car in case anything happens). Enjoy it as long as it is possible!

    teraismum wrote on Dec 24, ’09
    Pohutukawa are in full blossom and it is 25 degrees c. The sun is shining. What a glorious Christmas day at the beach. Wishing you and yours the very best wishes for Christmas.

Leave a Reply

