End of christmas

Finally christmas is over for this year. Snow is gone, food has been eaten (for the most part that is) and we are tired.

It was a white christmas so we headed out to my parents after the black ice had melted. Mum had made a great dinner and my nephews were quite cool. Sad to say that my brother was not on his best behaviour, but all in all we had a good day. We stayed over night and the next day was quite good. We left around 1ish and spent a little time reorganising the house for the third day of christmas.
On the third day of christmas I had my in-laws over. I was glad that my curtains were ready and organised. Our table had arrived on christmas eve and I could show off my christmas Danish table cloth. I had even made napkins out of them. Which were lovely and soft but not very good for the purpose. The table was large enough to set everything out and still have room to maneuver. Of course the prepping is the biggest thing. SO and I work very well together in the kitchen and in our new large kitchen it is a breeze.

Our christmas dinner:
starters; Just some snackish stuff, pepperdews, dates etc.
2 course: Coquilles with avocado mousse and tomato/shrimp mousse
3 course: Puff pastry decked Forrest mushrooms soup with fresh thyme from the oven.
4 and main course: Canard a l’orange with carrots, haricots verts, mashed potato and chicory salad (witloof).
5 course: Apple crumble with hazelnuts (thanks to Michael’s mum for this idea) with some mango and lemon sorbet ice cream.
We left the 6th course (cheese platter) and the coffee with chocolate off. This as everybody was rather full and little 2.5 year olds needed to go to sleep (the 6 month old slept through it all).

I do love christmas, but I am always happy when it is over. We are now finishing the last (4th) load of christmas dishes and slowly waking up to our holiday.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Family, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

