Kermi-bike

Kermi-bike, at least that is how SO has dubbed my new mean green bicycle machine.
I haven’t got it it yet. Will be a few weeks yet but I ordered it today.

As you know we have two sporty outdoors hobbies. The cycling/running and the cycling/skating (latter known as skietsen). The obvious overlap being cycling. One of the things that I know is that my bike is decent city bike. I cycle to work with it every day and I have no complaints in that regard.
However if I get to longer distance, over say 8km it is wholly inadequate. In our holiday in 2008 I was suffering severe backache and it was a bit of a race what would give in the most, me or my bike.
In the end we both made it in one piece. It was clear then that for the next holiday like that I would need a new bike. This year we simply did not have the opportunity to take our skietsen holiday, because of…….. ah you all know that part.

Anyway we want to do it again in 2010 an also the running is back on the agenda. So I spent the last few months researching on line what I wanted and needed. It quickly became clear to me that it was not going to be cheap. Anything that was well above my current bikes specs was a lot more expensive than I had anticipated. Then I had narrowed down what was important to me and that is when I needed a break, to digest spoiling myself like that. Strangely enough this coincided with the mortgage repayment calculations and other financial stuff. In short the Euro’s were flying around my head left right and center and I was chicken shit.

Just as well as it turns out. Our skietsen friend told me about this bike you could assemble yourself and to your own specs. Not cheap but perfect. There was a dealer in town as well. Basically you assemble the bike on line and order through a dealer, so that he can talk you through any strange things you want and give advice. As it happens the dealer is not only in town it s only a 5 min walk.
So I had a look and closed it again. Still about 3 months ago I came to the conclusion that if I wanted a new bike prior to the new season I’d better get my act together. So I looked at it in earnest. I then came to the conclusion that to have the perfect bike I wanted was only a little bit more expensive than a standard one. Plus I got to choose my own colour! Of course the latter swayed me

Anyway I assembled what seemed to be a reasonable bike but had some lingering doubts about the frame size I needed. So Wednesday we went to the dealer. He was most helpful and together we determined what I needed. Next day I went back with a question regarding the gears and gear shift system. He was most helpful and today I ordered it, in kermit green.
SO thinks I am really brave for choosing that colour, but really if you have the choice then you go for something that really appeals. I mean I know people that buy whole cars based on what colour they want (I can hear the giggles when she reads this).

To be fair kermit green stands out and apart from the fluorescent yellow was the brightest color in the spectrum I could choose from. The blue, pink and red were not vibrant enough and orange just did not do it for me. And form a road safety perspective me in my bright fluorescent shirt on a kermit green bike will be very visible and thus very safe.
Delivery will be 5-7 weeks away. And yes the bike will be named Kermit. Don’t think that can be avoided anymore.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Sports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kermi-bike

  1. Gilraen says:

    netheandersen wrote on Jan 10
    I think you´ve chosen wisely. Green is, after all, good for the eyes! So, consider posting a picture of Kermi when you get him, so we can all feast our eyes on it?
    Happy New Year, Nethe

    gilraensurion wrote on Jan 10
    It is my intention to let you all see Kermit when he arrives. Happy new year to you too!

  2. Pingback: And so we wait | Gilraensblog

  3. Pingback: The problem with my money | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

