Slip slidin’ away

Well we have been for a few weeks on a slippery road to nowhere. The street in front of our house is still pretty iced over. For quite some time there was so much ice that combing your hair in the street reflection was a definite option. That option no longer exists.

Most roads are clear, at least where we are. I can cycle to work without issues and the train will get me to where I need to go tomorrow. Life is returning to some level of normality. Almost as if everybody is getting used to the cold, the snow the ice. It is cold though. With the wind the chill factor is such that I am wearing my fleece jacket under my winter coat. I look ridiculous with the cerise hooded fleece, red scarf, baby pink gloves and grey coat, but I am warm and that is all that counts at present.
Plus a drawback is that he ice is crap. Last year’s ice was great for skating This year it is snow ice. Porous and treacherous. The snow has worked as a blanket so the ice did not grow much underneath it. Plus the snow that did become ice is like this slushpuppy (no specific flavour) layer on top of or built into the ice. No good for skating a lot, though skating doe happen in certain areas. What we need is a few days of thaw and then another frost period. Then we’ll be skating 11 city’s again!

For now though, we work, we have fun and we relax.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

