Pattern pieces

Today I had my first class in pattern drafting. It was fun, I have to admit.
My teacher is a purple haired young designer and there are 9 in the class. We are being observed and held in check by a cute little chihuahua, barely larger than a King Prawn. We have to be careful not to step on it.

At one stage I was told; “man you are good with numbers” Uhm kinda. This is really easy arithmetic. Anyway, I learned how to draw a straight skirt and an A-line skirt from scratch at 1/4 of the size.  After a lot of do this and do that things all of a sudden it started to look like the pattern pieces I am accustomed to. I am impressed with myself. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Finally again a use that part of mathematics which so often seemed useless when in school.

We don’t have official homework but we have been asked to repeat the exercises with our own sizes. Given that SO is going to be in Germany for two weeks I think I will.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pattern pieces

  1. Gilraen says:

    netheandersen wrote on Jan 31
    Cool! -And to thnik that we would ever come to need the things we learned at school! Funny! I remember my teacher saying “one day you will all thank me”, and I thought yeah, right!
    Draw away, G!

    gilraensurion wrote on Jan 31
    The ‘worst’ part of course that I was thinking; Now you could do this by simple trig but I can’t remember if I need the sinus, co-sinus or tangens to calculate the stuff. All of a sudden I am trying to dig deep into my basic knowledge again.
    Decided not to do any today, instead did a bit of sewing. Cold coming up again. bleh!

Leave a Reply

