Did something useful too

After our 21km skating/cycling trip SO and I soaked our weary muscles in a bath for an hour. Then we had to get some food and stuff.
But as it was such a splendid evening I decided that I wanted to do something in the garden. So I decided to plant our summer and autumn flowers. As per usual we saw these flowers in the store, not knowing what we were doing bought enough for a small estate. This combined with lots of enthusiasm and very little skill and patience has led to the following situation.
Reading all instructions: distance and planting depth; all different. Height; all different. Small bulbs, large bulbs, multi-bulbs, bulbs with tentacles and bulbs looking like little rocks and an utterly confused me.
So I ended up with the following approach. Sort by growth height and roughly by growing season. Using logic – large bulbs deeper further apart and small ones closer and not so deep.
I then took the large ones and planted them at the back of the flower bed and the smallest I planted in the front and the rest I just put where ever I felt like it.
In about two hours time I had shuffled all ground loose, planted somewhere between 170 and 230 bulbs and gave them enough potting ground to grow on (and to empty my bags of the stuff). Took a brush to the garden. Said goodbye to the worms and now hope for the best and some rain. We’ll see what happens If everything goes according to my not-carefully-laid-out plans we will have a nice flower garden this year.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Home life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Did something useful too

  1. Gilraen says:

    netheandersen wrote on Mar 23
    Must say, I thnk your approach will work well. Seems logical, and since you only bought flowers you like it will be great! (up here in the frost and snow, we have a long wait till flowers are to come).

    gilraensurion wrote on Mar 23
    It all of a sudden turned to spring. This week we are reaching the 20’s Last week we were still coldish. But it is nice to have spring again!

    trinewarming wrote on Apr 7
    Wow, you ended up being really organised despite the confusion. I believe I would have given up, dug a big hole, and thrown them all in there, helter skelter. But I am sure your plan will produce a much more beautiful outcome. Hope to see it soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

