Food and fun

A few weeks back my account manager / banker called. As we were such esteemed customers we were invited to a cook workshop at the (how appropriate) cooking factory. Of course we were not the only esteemed customers there but our account manager would be with us with a group. SO passed on the option as studies got in the way. But I did not pass it up and I was allowed to bring a guest instead of SO.
I asked one of my colleagues and she was all for it. I asked her as she is nice, her BF lives round the corner from my parents and as she is a little shy she’s had a rough time fitting in with our sometimes noisy department. I also saw it as an opportunity to get to know her better.
She was so flattered, but loved it.
We were picked up by my account manager, She drove us to the venue, which is in fact an old factory building. Up on the third floor they were all prepared for us. Over an hour all people came in. In total the group was about 100 people. Needless to say somewhat noisy.

We were packed together by account manager on a cooking island. Each participant was given a recipe to cook. We then would dine together on all food prepared. I would make the sauce for the meatballs and my colleague the tiramisu (bummer, already prepared the coffee liqueur !) Immediately the tomato wars broke out. Between the ratatouille and my sauce we needed 10 tomatoes, only 6 could be found. In the end we managed to get to 7 but that was it. The ratatouille lady and I compromised and she surrendered 2 and I the other one. She did insist I did the skinning. No probs. Working with 10 people around that island was somewhat rough on occasion, but we managed to make dinner.
We took the tapas to the table and them as a started, then the main course with the said meatballs, sauce and ratatouille accompanied by potatoes. The tiramisu was for desert. As I can’t eat it I had biscotti overload with the coffee after dinner.

Around 9.45 I called my taxi (SO) and he picked us up. We took my colleague to her place as she did not have her bike and I did not want her to walk it. Did not get into bed until 11.30, alarm went at 6.30 as we had to take the fridge out as it was being picked up. Then walked to work as my bike was still there. Was about 25% of the way back and turned home. I had forgotten my bike keys! SO had a laugh and drove me to work. My colleague thanked me profusely She’d had a great evening. Well so did I!
And tonight I got some good news. I was accepted into the sewing class on Wednesdays! Don’t know when I’ll start yet but it will be in a few weeks time. And there will also be a follow up on the pattern drafting!. I am having a great time. Busy, but great!

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Food, Home life, Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

