So not what I needed

We have had a rather annoying and stress full day. One we could have done without. Yesterday we’d done some tidying up in the basement and I had lunch with a friend. In the evening we decided to have some food in town (Greek) as SO was tired from studying and my period made me tired and cranky.
When we arrived home we went straight to bed. This morning we woke up and SO went downstairs first. He found the front door open. He checked everything Money, bank passes etc everything seemed to be OK so he assumed that this had happened when we had arrived home from the Greek. He told me when I came down and grabbed my coffee ready to start my morning ritual. So hang on – where is my laptop? Seriously where is it. Darn, power supply is also missing. Within seconds it dawned on us. The door was open as it had been flipped! It had been an in and out burglary job. My iPod was still there and really nothing had been touched. SO’s laptop had been upstairs fortunately

A weird day unfolded. Police called, they came to take report (complimented us on the kitchen) forensics (we missed them) We went to the locksmith changed cylinders, just in case until we have had the major upgrade.Change the door handle to a knob . Bought something to put in front of the very small window in the kitchen This kitchen window is big enough to see our laptops on the table when looking in. Then it was off to the mac dealer to get a replacement.
Thank heavens for our decent back up discipline. Our last back up was only 3 weeks old.
Oh before you ask; the laptop is password protected, as are all passwords, so that is at least something.

So I am back on line with my new laptop. Feeling somewhat drained as our weekend was envisaged to be so different. Bit bummed out, but grateful it happened at a weekend that SO was still home. He was my rock in all this.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So not what I needed

  1. Gilraen says:

    lamondine wrote on Apr 4
    Loosing material possessions is just irritating (and often costly). But getting burgled is so creepy! Thinking of you.

    gilraensurion wrote on Apr 5, edited on Apr 5
    Thanks, it is energy draining and takes a while to get things into perspective again.
    The ‘good’ thing about it is that it was in and out. The burglar knew what (s)he wanted. Nothing else was disturbed so the actual feeling of being burgled is not that huge. We did go to bed really late that night, which is unusual for us. Sorta to postpone the moment of loss of control. Coming back downstairs the next morning was difficult.
    We have changed some habits since then, but I refuse to give into the feeling of helplessness and to have myself barricaded into my own home. That would be a psychological win for that little creep that did it. They are not worthy of winning 🙂

    trinewarming wrote on Apr 7
    How annoying to have to deal with that kind of thing! And how good that you are of the cautios type, who make regular back-ups. I have just been reminded that I am due for one of those – thanks! :o)
    And another plus is that you have a new laptop now! :o)

    gilraensurion wrote on Apr 7
    Actually it is SO there in charge. He’s the cautious type and the one taking care of these things. And yeah the laptop is fun, but having to change all passwords was a pain. Looks like the insurance will pay and that makes it a little easier to take.

    toyotomi wrote on Apr 9, edited on Apr 9
    Ahw. These things tick me off. Good luck with it!
    Please report the creditcards. If the numbers were written down you might be in for a couple of suprises later. And not insured if not reported…

    gilraensurion wrote on Apr 9
    Done! 🙂

    egeltje wrote on Apr 9
    Oeps, that sucks! Annoying to know that someone was in your house while you were sleeping. Just hope that they ticked the Macbook upon order… and that they are not planning on coming back for other stuff. Good that you changed the locks!

    gilraensurion wrote on Apr 10
    I suspect that it may have been a pick to order case. That they would come back for other stuff was our biggest fear. That is why we changed the locks and procedures immediately. Because of what we wanted would take some time we had a cylinder on loan from the locksmith. Does temporarily increase the number of keys on the keyring.

    tyellas wrote on Apr 12
    How horrible! I’m so sorry!

    netheandersen wrote on Apr 12
    Uh! Horrible! In one´s own home one needs to feel totally safe from any annoyance or danger. Feel for you!

    gilraensurion wrote on Apr 12, edited on Apr 13
    Thanks you both too. I am getting there though I had a tough night last night as it was the first night with SO away. I think I heard everything in the house and next door. The latter was understandable. Neighbours returned from Italy at 1am.

Leave a Reply

