Faith in humanity restored

Boy did I have a complete and utter meltdown today. Currently we only have three keys to the house. SO’s, mine and our cleaning ladies. All others are on order and are taking forever.

This morning I rushed out of the house. I had to attend a meeting in Utrecht and I was running a little late. I took my bike off the chain and lock attached to our front fence and left in a quick manner.
Returning at about 2.30 pm I noticed that the chain and lock had gone. I also realised that I had no keys to the house in my pocket! Given that my key to the said lock is on the same keyring it dawned on me that I had left my keys on that chain in the lock in front of the house.

Panic struck as the terrible truth entered my brain. Somebody had my keys and knew where the house with fitting lock was. My home, oh god not again! Not by my own stupidity! I just had enough brains cells in my head to call my cleaning lady. She rushed over. At least I could get into the house.
Next call SO……in Rome…… As soon as I heard him I lost it. I just turned into this huge puddle of despair. Told him my thoughts and my hope that the neighbours would have found it on their way to work. SO called the neighbour and then called me back.
That is when I discovered the chain, but no keys. The chain was not on our fence but on SO’s bike. I know with 100% certainty that I had not done that. I would never have put it there. The the neighbour arrived (she was on her way anyway), just as my cleaning lady arrived. The outpouring of support was just awesome. They went inside the house with me (I was scared to go in and think what to find). Nothing had been touched.

That is when I starting to think that maybe I had lost my keys in the train or in the store where I had bought some water for the trip.  Then the doorbell rang and two men asked if the chain on the bike belonged to me and I said yes. They then handed me my keys. Words cannot express the relief I felt. How grateful I was/am. My neighbour talked to them whilst burst into a puddle of slush being comforted by my cleaning lady. Meanwhile SO was waiting what had happened and in all kinds of states as well ………. and in Rome. So as soon as I had some level of composure I called him again to ensure that he knew everything was all right. My cleaning lady left a little later. She is a darling for coming to the rescue. I then went to the store to get some food I needed. (And some beer for the honest key keepers). Had a quick chat with the neighbour. She felt strongly (and I agree) that at least part of it was a backlash from emotions still under the surface after last week. She told me to stop by at any time I felt I could not cope with SO away, which is great.

In the store I bought a tub of ice-cream with nuts (in lieu of me not drinking, very much needed as a comfort food) Ate half of it. took a bath with lavender salts and then ate the other half of the tub and talked some more with SO on the phone. He’s lovely and so concerned about me. Half ready to fly back, not needed thankfully.
Feeling much better now emotionally albeit a bit sick in the stomach. AND my faith in humanity has been restored.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Friends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Faith in humanity restored

  1. Gilraen says:

    trinewarming wrote on Apr 14
    What a rollercoaster ride! So glad you ended up happy and safe. I can picture you in the bathtub with the icecream. Just the thing for tattered nerves. 🙂
    Did you get my email about the upcoming viking invasion?
    Hugs and warm thoughts. 🙂

    gilraensurion wrote on Apr 15
    I did get it. Just haven’t gotten round to replying – dates are fine with me BTW. It is the week before the scottish wild woman arrives (also a friend from NZ)

    toyotomi wrote on Apr 16
    I cannot decide if you’ve just been very lucky to have gotten your keys back or very unlucky because of these incidents shortly following each other. Whatever the case, I’m glad you’re okay.
    And being sick in the stomach is understandable. Considering you ate a whole tub of ice-cream.

    gilraensurion wrote on Apr 16, edited on Apr 16
    A little bit of both I think. I for one am glad that what I believe, that most people are good and decent has proven to be right again. Faith in humanity does get a dent even for an optimist like me, but together these people polished the dent, so though still there it is no longer visible and intruding into life in general.

    It has been proven again; there are more nice people than there are nasties. No matter what you may believe when reading the news sometimes.

Leave a Reply

