Maastricht – showing its best in spring

This weekend was splendid. Weather was magnificent and the company very good.
I spent most of this weekend near Maastricht. Maastricht is the southern most large city in the country and home to one of my oldest friends egeltje.
It is a 2.5 hour journey by train. So it is nor a journey that is taken often. As a matter of fact since my return we’d seen each other twice. Once when she had a course at my place of work (we had coffee) and the other time at my wedding
So it was about time that I went to see her home and BF. The latter is the same one she’s had for 10 years now.

As there were delays to be expected I left early I had the 7.30 am train on Friday and arrived 3 hours later. She picked me up in her snazzy red Mini with racing stripe. It was so good to see her again. That is where the chattering started and continued for well the weekend. Just like old times.
The afternoon was spend walking in the  area surrounding the village where she lives. As it is more hilly than what I am used to my shins and caves got a good work out. Be saw heaps of badger burrows, but no live ones. The area was beautiful The early spring with lots of fruit trees blossoming, forest trees starting to shoot leaves and lots of flowers growing My friend was quite good at telling me which ones were which. All in all we waled for over three hours with a nice break at a terrace. We saw some quite nice huge houses, monasteries, and castles and generally enjoyed the sunshine. The latter we continued in the garden
In the evening we had Indian food. And it was good. Since leaving NZ I hardy ever have it as it is not SO’s favourite food. But this was good.We really enjoyed it.

Today egeltje’s flight to Italy was Ash canceled so we had a little bit more time than anticipated. She showed me around town a bit. Wonderful old city. For me highlights were the selexyz bookstore. It is built in an old church and it is wonderful. Another one was the kruisheren hotel also built in a church and monastery. The whole city is being made low in traffic, hence it is very peaceful, specifically on a spring Sunday. We had tea in the sun and I left at 1.30 pm. Three hours later I was back home and found in my freezer enough meat for a year.

See we’d participated in buying a cow. It is then slaughtered and divided between people. This year the cow was quite big and less people than usual so my freezer is totally chocka-a-block full! We do have a large freezer and now it is a meatfreezer only. My parents brought it over this weekend and one of our friends (she is vegetarian) helped with opening the door (key shortage), which I thought was so sweet and thoughtful of her to do.  This despite having a tremendously bad back at present. On the Sunday evening I went to pick up the key and had diner with her and her partner. She was telling me that she’d been amazed at the quantity Well so was I! It is a huge amount!

Anyway egeltje, thank you for a lovely weekend. I feel totally rested and like I have had a mini holiday. Was good to finally meet your other half and just to chat as if we were still back in Wageningen.  Sometimes wish you would live closer, but you belong where you are. Still………..I am not making it again 3 years for a visit there.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Friends, Pampering, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Maastricht – showing its best in spring

  1. Gilraen says:

    toyotomi wrote on Apr 23
    Maastricht is a great city. Nice history, great eating and drinking at the vrijthof and elsewhere and a lot of great photo opportunities. I still have a photo on the Sterre-der-zee webpage.

    Always nice to visit and 2 1/2 hours isn’t that much…

    gilraensurion wrote on Apr 23
    No, but not something I do every week And really just about the maximum you can get by train here – Groningen is further (3h) but other than that you end up in a different country all together

    toyotomi wrote on Apr 24
    Limburg _is_ a different country altogether 😉

  2. Pingback: Weird week | Gilraensblog

  3. Pingback: Back to where it began (sorta) | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

