All road lead to Rome – but then

Home again. Tired but OK.
Flew out on Wednesday evening. As it was a 6.25pm flight I did expect a sandwich Of course not much so I had sorted a large lunch. This turned out to be a saviour We only received a cookie! I arrived in the hotel around 9.45pm Too late to go out and find a place to eat. Besides I was too tired. In the hotel I raided the minibar (Kitkat and pistachios).
Hotel was nice except no English TV so I ended up watching the British elections on France 24 a news channel in French I was pleasantly surprised that I could actually follow about 70% of it and fill in the gaps. But it was hard.
The hotel was in an older part of town not far from the Circus Maximus and our meeting venue. The streets were hard to walk on. My guess is nothing changed on the streets since Attila the Hun took over.  Hard to navigate with any shoes which are not sneakers. As it happens I only saw the circus and the pyramid because I had to walk past them but time for sightseeing I did not have.

Next day was meeting time. There were more people than anticipated which made it interesting but harder. In the evening half the group went out for dinner and we had lots and lots of good Italian food. A great evening catching up with people I only see once or twice a year.
The last day I empirically established that a Jacuzzi and bath bubbles are not a combination that should be used. It is fun though!. That day I spent time with my French colleague that I work with on several projects and it looks like we’ll be workigntogether more. We went out for lunch at a restaurant that was one of those “How on earth did you find this?” type places. Family owned and clearly very non touristy there were some language difficulties happening.
One of my french colleagues ordered Apple Pie and got Pineapple. Another one ordered cheese and got 3 balls of mozzarella and well that was it. Clearly he’d expected a cheese platter. Two colleagues had to swap after re-examining their dishes. We had great fun and I again got to learn some more French.

At the airport I bought SO some beautiful ties as requested; When he arrived back form Rome two weeks ago he’d seen the shop but had been too late to have a look So could I please I was going to leave from the same airport etc. Interesting place I did not buy him the hot pink with little sperm whales one. Though incredibly cute I knew it would not be something SO would want to wear to work
On the way back thankfully there was a sandwich and I arrived late. SO picked me up and I just rolled into bed when home. There is nothing like your own bed, really there isn’t

As for seeing anything in Rome. That will have to wait.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All road lead to Rome – but then

  1. Pingback: Another lovely wedding | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

