The powers that not be

Last night we went out and had a wonderful night.
It included good food and that is always a winner with us. We were in bed close to midnight

Around 2 am I wake up,
needing to go to the bathroom.
I stumble out of bed to the the little room thinking;
“It is bl**dy dark here”
Then I come to the conclusion that,
this may be due to my closed eyes.
So I open them,
no improvement.
I stumble back the bed and think;
“My little guiding light under my bed is not working”
The realise that this could be,
due to my clothes being next to my bed,
covering the light
Decide I am too blond and lie in bed,
I want to know what time it is.
I turn to my clock
See that it is not working
So I switch on the light –
Not working
Slowly my brain regains a level of consciousness.
I get up again
I check the light in the dressing room.
No go
I lie in my  bed again
and think “power outage”
I think – “this means our alarm system is not working”.
I am awake now!
Desperately trying to hear if there is anything downstairs –
“Did someone cut the cable?”
Calm down! Think.
I wake up SO and say;
“this is not right, we have no power anywhere”
SO gets up and decides to look into the street
We realise none of the streetlights are on
We check on the other side of the house.
Even the church clock is out.
Our city is dark.
We go back to bed
Then we hear “Prrrrrrrrrrt”
It is our handsfree phone getting power again.
With that the streetlights switch on.
We switch on the radio for the 2am news.
Yes there is a power outage,
due to a fire in a switch station.
At least 250,000 people affected.
We are two of them.
Alarm system is working again.
We go to sleep.
This morning we wake up.
Everything back to completely normal.
Good!

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The powers that not be

  1. Gilraen says:

    egeltje wrote on May 21
    That got your heart beat going!!!

Leave a Reply

