Election time – tweet

Tomorrow we have elections for our parliament. I am watching the final debate.
It has been a long long long long campaign and tomorrow it will be over. Planning on voting early.

What has made this campaign different than the ones before is twitter. I am finding watching the political debate and having all (bar one) parties in on twitter stream highly entertaining. It is instant funny feedback. And per debate it is different.
Some parties have sore losers, some parties have highly entertaining tweets and some parties have yet to discover how to use this technology. One of the most entertaining things happened this afternoon when one party-leader had a #tweetuur/#tweetvragenuur (question hour) She ran out of tweets to send!!! She was typing away answering all questions and then the party tweeter stepped in as she twitterfeed had stopped. She had exceeded her allowance apparently! It was so much fun to watch.
There have been the instant little debates between candidates, but also between candidates and just about all people on twitter.
In the mean time I have also installed Tweetdeck to get everything (read multiple searches and accounts) properly going. I feel like such a geek, but this is fun It has allowed me to get a lot more insight and interaction both with the politics as with the followers. I like it.
No I haven’t tweeted anything myself about it, but been a close observer.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

