Another nordic invasion

This weekend a friend is visiting. She too is nordic, though not Scandinavian. She’s a real scotswoman. Tartan and all, she has.
She and I became friends through our professional network. She even invited me to lecture at her university. It never happened as the course as canceled, due to lack of students.
She moved to Christchurch in the winter before I left for Europe. I was at her going away party. Most entertaining as I recall.
She has now moved to England to take up a position there. Her reasons for return are pretty much the same as mine, family. She arrived back almost to the day 3 years after me. It is amazing really. I think it was Ty that once commented that it is mostly the Europeans going back, though there too I know some exceptions.
She had a seminar at my university this week and she decided to add on a few days to visit friends. Tomorrow I am picking her up from a friends place just 20 minutes from here.
She’ll leave on Sunday again. Haven’t seen her for 4 years. Looking forward to talking to her.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Friends, Holiday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

