Cycling

Yesterday we went for a cycling tour. Just to get an open egg sandwich at Oostvoorne. It is only a 70km round trip. By bike and SO on skates.
We were shattered by the end of it. Only visions of Lasagna got me through the last 15km.
According to SO I was still going quite fast. But as I told him it was either that speed or no speed. My legs only wanted to go at one speed. Whilst cycling I only had views of the road underneath me. But as I know that part of the road well I knew when to look up to take a corner.

SO was feeling no better unfortunately. He was ready to take the bus about 20 km before the finish. Needless to say that the plans to do 5x78km for a holiday were shelved. It would be the end of SO and me.
We ended up with a schedule where the 4 of us doing 3x65km and then our friends will continue and we’ll return home. That way they can do a few long stretches and we still have the fun of going together. The plan is Den Bosch – Maastricht or the other way.
Anyway after the long trip we had a bath (lovely) and dinner – of course lasagna for me. Today we’ll have an early night as this morning was a bad bad start.

For those of your that wonder – yes car did arrive and until we have come up with a better name it will be High Speed Nerd – Hippie Space Nerd or Mouse.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Friends, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cycling

  1. Gilraen says:

    teraismum wrote on Aug 11
    Such energy. I trust the weather was lovely?

    gilraensurion wrote on Aug 11
    The energy was well and truly gone by the end of the trip 🙂 The weather was indeed lovely. The roads have to be dry for the boys to go skating. Otherwise it is too slippery and dangerous for them.\
    It is one of the reasons why our training has been erratic the last few weeks as the rain interfered a lot. But this sunday was a good one.

    egeltje wrote on Aug 13
    The plan is: Den Bosch – Maastricht., I read. Do you want to go up hill or down hill? As of Sittard, I suggest you stay close to the Meuse, otherwise you are in for some surprises… And I am not sure whether that hill is very skate-friendly…

    gilraensurion wrote on Aug 13
    We’ll do. We taking the Meuse basin route on the Belgian side. Our idea is to take it from Maastricht so essentially downhill (LF7b)

Leave a Reply

