Too much to celebrate

We had such a busy busy weekend. And a long one to boot.
On Thursday it was time for SO’s graduation ceremony. As the team he graduated with is rather international the audience was small. He certainly had the largest delegation with him. Both my parents and his parents attended. What none of us knew is that SO was doing a presentation as well. All parents were suitably impressed by his presentation skills. It was fun to watch and very clear to all that apart from a lot of hard hard work it was also a lot of fun.
He ended by saying that partners had been important and that during the Case presentation he had had a giggle when his colleague had choked up thanking the home support team. Then he said “but I feel myself choking up now as well” and all he too could say was thank you to all family and me there he gave me a wonderful bunch of flowers. Then I choked up as well!!!!

The the diploma part started including the pictures to be taken; One of the student assistants gave them a bunch of flowers and was kissed by all team members, male and female, The latter was more to his liking I think. One of the other team members gave his flowers to his wife, leaving his little girl (seated next to me) feeling a little left out with two bunches of flowers. One of the Italians then gave this 9-year old his flowers. The man is a real charmer and now has a real fan in Germany.
After that we had the event dinner and we were not home until after midnight. Our parents had dinner together that evening. They get on very well.

The next day my dad put up our new table light, which was well received by all. On Saturday we celebrated our birthdays and the graduation with family. The weather was glorious so we actually sat in the garden. It was lovely. That evening we went out to dinner at our local Italian place. I have to say our little nieces (3 and 1) were behaving like little angels. Really sweet and easy. My BIL was surprised I got the -year old to eat her chicken nuggets. But really it is the auntie trick. After a lot of wine and cheer we rolled home. It was safe to say there were only 4 people sober; my SIL (designated driver) my two little nieces (though drunk on tiredness) and me. But it was fun. The restaurant gave us a bottle of bubbly for SO’s graduation. Can you tell we come there often?

Today it is recuperating and nothing much else. Back to normal daily life. Will be so good.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Friends and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

