Sewing machine

I have got it! I bought a new machine. It has taken me such a long time to get to this point. My Singer has lasted me years Looking back it was about 2003 that I bought that pretty little basic machine. She served me well, but she no longer is adequate. I have outgrown the basics. It does not help she lost a leg and is now highly unstable. Still it feels a bit like treachery to the machine that did so well.
Knowing that I needed a better machine I searched and searched. What did I want and how much did I want to spend. A major step forward was last year when I visited Trine. She let me use her machine and I loved it. As it turns out that was a limited edition and I could not purchase it here. But it got me thinking about Pfaff again. Then I started pattern drafting and sewing classes. The best part about the sewing classes was that I could use multiple machines. Try them out and  look at them at leisure. In the end I did buy a machine they have in my class. Money of course was an issue as the machines are not cheap. In fact SO was impressed by the prices when I told him about it. He’d never expected that.

What did I buy then?
Well this is my baby
The Pfaff expressions 3.0. She is essentially a quilting machine. So the work area is huge, which for clothes is also fantastic. IDT, 196 different stitches (including 8 button holes), needle up/down, twin needle capability etc etc. And compared to the SInger very little noise. She is sitting on the table and I tried her yesterday. It is a dream to work with.
I also got a thread case and new scissors with it. Happy happy happy, oh yes and broke 😉

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sewing machine

  1. Gilraen says:

    trinewarming wrote on Oct 10
    Wow, looks good! Happy sewing! (And you’ll forget about the cost in time – I almost have already, and my machine is only five or six years old!) ;o)

    netheandersen wrote on Oct 11
    Fantastic, congratulations!
    And what a coincidence: I was about to post a little something about my sewing-machine purchase the other day, but got side tracked by the twins
    Last month I bought the Phaff expressions 2.0, -of cause after months of deliberations and advice from Trine.

    As you say, money was an issue, but as Ole had just bought new surfing equipment I felt perfectly entitled to spend all I had!
    I have today accomplished the un-accomplishable: hemming a pair of jeans. not that it´s a particularly difficult procedure, but the girls would almost not let me. but I kept at it a little by little, in between nappy changes and bottle feedings and entertaining them and giving them their dummies every time they spat them out during naps and went into hysterics about loosing them… having two babies really means double work.

    But the machine is everything I wished for! Quiet, strong, slow or fast according to my need, and neat in every stitch!!
    so, when are we 3 going to get together for a sewing super-session? In the spring, maybe?

    gilraensurion wrote on Oct 11
    Sounds like Trine certainly has som explaining to do. Is she on commission with Pfaff?
    Spring may not be an option as I am returning only from a very long holiday in April 🙂

    trinewarming wrote on Oct 11
    Yay! We’ll be the Sisterhood of the Fab Pfaffs! :oD

    Just let me know when you guys have the time to sew, I’ll tuck my old and bedraggled sewing machine under my arm and lug it to either the far reaches of Jutland or lovely Delft! Or we may stay in our summer house if you prefer. :o)

    trinewarming wrote on Oct 11
    And no, I am not on commission, but maybe I should consider… :o)

  2. Pingback: sewing machines at class | Gilraensblog

  3. Pingback: The problem with my money | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

