Colour me bad

This week I had a colour analysis done. It was a gift from us to my MIL for her birthday. The three of us MIL, SIL and myself went to the stylist.
I had seen colour analysts at work in NZ was enthusiastic about that. At the time I did not have the funds to do one myself, Besides I pride myself in knowing pretty much what suits me.
Therefore the first surprise was that she only uses the 4 base types. Which IMO is not good for me. I suggested that I’d end up a summer, but not as a very good fit.
I was right. MIL to her surprise (not ours) was a summer, where she thought she would be an autumn. My SIL is a winter, just like she hoped/suspected.

I was a summer but it already started that they could not see the silver/gold separation. Then after that it became clear that the soft pastels suit me slightly more than the harsh winter. But seriously the pastels were marginally better as they lacked the clarity in hue that I do need. The colours were too wishy washy for me. What irritated me what the lack of reds in the fan and me only being attracted to the pink and lavender. The colours that get me the most compliments are simply not in that fan! Not in the winter fan either BTW! The she told I should wear ton-sur-ton. I know from experience that that is not me. I completely disappear in that.
The stylist agreed that I was hard to place and was not a typical summer (duh). Still she urged me to use that colour pallet going forward and use ton-sur ton, almost like pretend that I was. I felt a little miffed because I felt the advice was wrong, very wrong. Plus I really could not see how I am so right about nearly all people I know and be so wrong about myself. No more reds? No more bright pinks? And as a result no more compliments. Hardly likely.

In NZ the analyst adds you to a group (1-2-3) to add to your pallet and give you a better idea.where you fit. I recall my Swiss friend being a winter 3. At the time the analyst had told em (for free) that seeing me she thought me to be a Summer 1 or maybe a winter 1. I knew this and I also knew the consequences of that and had lived by that pallet from memory.
So all in all I was not happy with the advice and the fan given. I knew I would feel horrible in most of the fan, Just comfy in the pink/purple and possibly the aqua provided it had clarity.
So I had a search around the net. The base analysis I used has a bigger brother a 6 base type. And there I was in the description; Can wear both gold and silver, looks good in nearly all reds, needs clarity in colour and some contrast, but needs to stay away for the really harsh winter  colours. That is so totally me!
So I immediately ordered that that correct fan.

At least it did confirm that I never fit just one category and am a little hard to place in a box. And really that kinda pleases me 🙂

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Pampering and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

