Winter is coming

Today I walked to work. Something I really enjoy as it really makes me feel calm. In general I forget all things at work by the time I am home and walking to work I wake up and feel rested. Somehow it is one of those really nice things that always falls by the wayside first. So I have made a conscious effort to start it up again. It is one of those positive things that can make or break a day.

When walking back then it was that I noticed how beautiful the city is at present. It is autumn and like nature it seems the city is starting to prepare itself for its winter sleep. Windows are lit when you walk past and the streets are dark and damp. In one of the canals they have already installed the lights that will remain until christmas giving a really romantic touch to that area. Somehow it makes me feel warm inside knowing that the cold winter nights are approaching. The time when everybody wants to curl up in their own home and feel at home. We are all preparing for those really dark night that are coming.

I for one am looking forward to them.

 

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Feelings, Home life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

