Sint

Yesterday we went shopping and to the movies.

Sint

We go shopping more often. Nothing too weird about that. I got myself some new booties. I have needed them for some time – In order to go shopping in town one needs shoes that are not high heeled and are comfortable yet not dowdy. Given that my shopping shoes have been my sneakers you know that I did not qualify for the last part. The ones are black and grey and very comfortable. SO also bought some shoes and also two new suits for work. He looks very handsome in those.

In the evening we went to see the movie. For us this is relatively rare as SO is not a big fan, and we have a large screen TV. However some movies one has to watch on the big screen at least once. Sint is such a movie.  In part because SO every year plays Sinterklaas, it made it a must see. Though I seriously hope he remains better looking than that one in the movie.

Who and what Sint is I described earlier. This movie however takes our much loved children’s patron saint and turns him and his legend around. He becomes a mythical murderer, reminiscent of some Flying Dutchman themes. It is a comical horror. A bit in the vein of Bad Taste and Braindead by Peter Jackson, though less splatter, but the same type of humour. Dick Maas used small pieces of his earlier movies – It features Flodder on TV in a scene. Though not a fan of horror at all, I really liked this movie. I suspect it will only show in the Netherlands and Belgium as it is such a Dutch story, but if you have the chance watch it.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in shopping, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

