The case of the disappearing tunnel

It is a mess in town. They are building a new railway tunnel and for that half the city has been cut off form the other half. It is getting worse and worse. I have blogged about it before.

However weather is making it look absolutely miserable. Now they are closing off the bicycle/pedestrian tunnel I take daily. From next week onward.  It says it is for 21 months but that is hogwash. We all know that that is going to take longer. So I am getting to take a different way home walking and cycling. Unfortunately that means a route that is less inspiring from a pretty perspective. It does however give me a daily look at things that are going on and changes that are happening.

Two things are worth mentioning. The drilling of the tunnel hold up walls. Man that makes a noise!!!! Screaming loud and high pitched. I had to cycle past one, I am taking a different way if I know they are doing that. It hurts!I only stopped hearing it when I was pretty close to work about 2.5km further down the road. The other thing worth mentioning is more of the demolition kind. A building is being demolished. It is kind of fun watching it disappear but also how it attacks the steel carrier beams. At that stage of course they are no carrying any load anymore but the machine grabs the large beam an ‘gently’ tugs it until it comes loose. And then it snaps as if it a match. I don’t know what these beams weight but at that stage they look pretty miserable.

Oh well We’ll just keep looking at all the building works around the place (too many to mention) and continue the local mantra: It will be beautiful once it is finished.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The case of the disappearing tunnel

  1. Pingback: Wham bam | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

