Slippery when wet

That tunnel closing, I discussed earlier, leaves me with some alternative routes. Today was the first of a cold snap. Not too bad, just enough to cause some minor ice formation.

So on Friday I cycled to work as I often do, taken my new route to work (no tunnel after all). The whole way to work was clear. I was actually amazed.  Then there is this tiny little bridge in my new route. you come off it and turn left. It looked a bit slippery but I managed. Then I hear “dang, shoosh, boom” behind me and in a reflex I turn to see what happened and while I was doing a “dang, shoosh, boom” myself saw somebody on the ground behind me.

So there I was on the cold icy road. A traffic jam formed behind us two unfortunate ones, whilst a third person managed just to stay upright. Then this woman stops her bike about 10m from  me. “It is slippery isn’t it?” She yells. I think: “Isn’t that obvious?” I Say: “Yes it is. She says “Does it hurt?” I think “No, I am sitting here because I love sitting with my bum on the cold road” I say “At the moment it does yes”. She has not moved an inch from her position and is not making any move to actually be of any help.

Then a young man stops and he wanders over and asks, “Are you hurt or can I help you up?” “Help me up would be great thanks” I say (after all I am wearing heels, not compatible with standing up on the ice. After he helps me up, he turns and picks up my bike. I say thank you very much and continue on the dry not slippery sidewalk. The lady in the distance toddles off as well.

Anyway I prefer the do-ers  to the onlookers with comments. And I was not injured, Just my pride got hurt

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

