blog update (finally)

I am way way behind on blogging. Life has gone a little haywire of course December has that effect on people.

The Sinterklaas weekend was good SO did two stints as Sint and we did the usual family stuff. That in itself was a bit difficult as there was snow, a lot of snow that day and we had to decide if it was safe to drive. In the end we did drive and it was OK.

From thereon I went into block three for my course and that too went all right including a snowball fight, more Sinterklaas poems and severe lack of sleep. For the latter I paid dearly in the weekend. The rest of the weekend (the parts where I did not sleep) were taken up by the hairdresser, an evening with our new neighbours and some sports, but really sleep was the main dish that weekend.

This week was the last of the year for SO. I still have 4 days to go next week. I am freewheeling into Christmas and do not have much to do. In fact I have so little to do that the little I have to do does not get done :-(. Today we were treated to a really big dump of snow. Huge. And guess what? Our whole transport system collapsed under the weight of the white fluffy stuff. It is so bad that that the railways recommend not to travel (they are running a lean schedule and nothing is guaranteed) the roads are still full with cars and ice which is not a pretty combination and it has started freezing again.

How did we fare? Well SO got to work and back alright. Slow but not too bad in the end. As for me I walked. Arrived at work closely imitating a yeti but it was great walking in the snow. At work I noticed wet shoes (I had spare) and wet trousers (not spare) Oh well I survived. I left work early as I wanted to be in before dark and the next lot of snowstorms. I succeeded in that. Now we are having an easy evening in.

Tomorrow I have a shopping day planned. Just wondering if my friend can make it considering the weather tonight and the public transport or current lack thereof. We’ll sleep on it. Tomorrow is another day.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Friends, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to blog update (finally)

  1. Pingback: I said no | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

