Fabric

Friday afternoon I took an afternoon off. Highly unusual for me, but I think I am going to do that more often. A Friday afternoon to indulge in my hobbies, see if I like it.

One of my sewing class buddies and I went to Toetenel a fabric store at the high end, but they are closing down for health reasons. For me, as I receive the newsletter and the coupon, it was 50% off. All of a sudden it was feasible.

It was lovely only having to work half a day and then head out, meet my friend and take the tram to there (almost door to door). First we took a tour through what was still there. As this was only announced a week ago, there was still a lot to play with.

Two hours later I was done. I had some apple green fabric for a table cloth and napkins. Wonderful black felt with dark brown threads (My friend called it as if a hair had been plastered all over it), it will be a skirt. Some white cotton with purple stripe for a blouse. Black wool for pants and finally Blue silk for pants (probably). Also buttons and zippers.

All in all a fortune worth, with the discount only a small fortune. My friend even managed to outdo me, but she got some wonderful coated stuff for a trench/rain coat. We will be getting together for sewing outside of class. It is so great to have so many sewing buddies all over the world.  Oh and as wonderful as Toetenel is, no match for stof og stil or the fabric warehouse outlet. The latter I will visit when in Auckland of course.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Sewing, shopping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fabric

  1. Trine says:

    We want pictures! :o)
    Sounds like a lovely shopping spree. I hope you will find the time for all those projects soon. ;o)

    • Gilraen says:

      Ah you wants it 🙂 Heading out for my course the rest of the week and spending weekend at my parents place so it will take a little time to get round to it.

  2. Pingback: pants batch 1 | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

