Flashbacks

Yesterday at work I received a phone call from my mother. Highly unusual for her to call me in the middle of the day, when she knows I am at workShe was clearly beside herself. She had just heard that my brother had had a break in. According to him everything was gone when he got home (he’d spent the night at his GF). Al he could remember in a flash was my parents under his speed dial. My father rushed over (they live close by) and mum just was beside herself not knowing, not being in control and rudderless. Sound familiar? I know in that respect I do take after mum.

Sweet though that she called me. I told her (as it was Wednesday) that she should focus on getting the kids and look after them whilst my brother and father sorted out the mess and dealt with everything. Oh yes, that was what she could do. So when I checked later she was her in control self again.

Just called my brother. He angry, upset, but remarkably composed. Sorting through the stuff. These people had been thorough. Been in his bedroom Even turned the linen cupboard upside down and under the mattress, in search of money of course. According to him it was a mess. The stuff can be replaced, the feeling of unsafety in his house is huge at present. He’s talking of building a fortress. I know he will relax but he will make some significant changes to the house. I can relate to his feelings at least to an extend. I think our second event after that was closer in feeling, but at least things were right then. Still he too is sortign things out. Will have a fall out later I think.

Somehow what happened here immediately jumps back into our minds. I know the fear and feelings of that too will disappear, but today the feelings do resurface. I share some of his anger, fear and some bewilderment. How dare they do that to my little brother and my nephews. But there is not much I can do. Just call and be a good big sister. Bummer.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Feelings, Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

