Quake and the rest

This morning first thing I saw was an email from Em.regarding an earthquake in Christchurch, NZ. WTF, that is where we are heading to. Panic? A little then brain kicked in helped by coffee.

We are going to NZ – Not to christchurch though. We are changing plans on the fly. We are meeting P in Auckland on Thursday and are going to take it from there. Em is calling the hotel (provided it is still standing) for us to cancel and that is all we can do for now.

This morning has not been the easy going start of our honeymoon we’d envisaged. We’ll get there,, but the adrenaline is racing through my veins and I am in organising mode. Nearly there and we are starting to feel in charge again.

Just marvelous how some friends always come through. So we’ll see what happens from hereon.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Holiday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quake and the rest

  1. Lynn says:

    Hey you,
    Thank goodness you weren’t there – it’s awful. I couldn’t remember when you were leaving. Fortunately all my friends are safe so I can stop stressing now. Alas, all the beautiful buildings have been destroyed. I’m still going to visit Chch when I go down in April but I think it’s going to be a sad and difficult trip. Missing NZ so much right now but the spirit of the Cantabrians has been immense. Makes me proud to be a resident. Make the most of your trip – I’m sure you will have a great time regardless xxx

    • Gilraen says:

      Yep things are not going to plan but we are adjusting. All my friends are safe. Jus saw P’s daughter. She is fne now.
      NZ at present,even Auckland, is a countryy in shock that is pulling together. People generally have somebody thre and thus are affected by the aftermath. People have people missing or know somebody who does.

      I know you will visit Chch, but emeber that is 6-7 weeks after the quake worst will be over then. We think we will not be going there, but we’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

