To Stewart Island

The decision to visit Stewart Island was the most ad hoc one we took this holiday. Just as well we decided a few days ago as it turns out that it is essential that one books everything in advance. 

Again it was an early rise this morning. We had a 9.30 boat to catch check-in time was 9 with a 35 minute drive. So we had decided to leave the hotel at 8 that way we are on time regardless of traffic. We need not have worried on the traffic part so we were well ahead of schedule. Most of our stuff we left at the hotel in storage. The hotel owners were happy to keep it for two night and we booked a room for the day of our return. We parked our car and took an over nighter with us to the island

The sea had died down a little overnight but was not exactly calm. The waves still were a few metres high and lets face it they are the roaring forties that need to be crossed and they are notoriously uncalm.   SO was a little worried about seasickness.

Green, that was my colour, at least that is how it felt. My feelign told me that I was changing from apple to dark green via teal and back again. I was not a happy camper. I was sweating profusely and I was just about ready to become acquainted with the puke bags that were in front of me. In the end I managed to do without but it was not my most heroci trip ever. SO, as a former navel lieutenant, with 2 days on a naval ship under his naval career belt, sailed through.

According to his observations was I by no means worst off on the boat. I know this to be true as there was a little girl that was white as a ghost and shivering. And I did notice a few pukebag noises behind me. When I heard the noises I did not dare to have a peek at who was going overgreen as I was afraid I would follow their example. So of course was very aware of my stomach state at every second. As my unease grew I clinched his hand harder and as it eased my grip did too. As soon as we entered the bay my unease went down and on land I was fine.

We had a pick up from to boat to our hotel, and had to wait a little on our room as it was not quite ready yet. So we had a coffee/tea in a cafe and made reservations in the restaurant. We walked back via the DOC (Department of conservation) centre on the island to get some more information on walkways etc. Back at the hotel we foudn we had a really nice room. The manager also recommended Ulva Island and to used  a gided tour through Ruggedy Range (located next door) . We were also told “if you want to join a group this afternoon, that is possible. Be ready in 20 minutes”. When you see a chance – well we took it. So we said “we are in” We ran tot the local four square and grabbed some ready made sandwiches and within 20 minutes we were ready to roll. We really had no idea what we gotten ourselves into.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Friends, Holiday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

