Home, sweet home

We are home. We arrived a few hours ago, but as soon as you arrive things need to be done.

The second part of our trip was great, We preferred the KLM seats to the Malaysian ones and we both slept for a few hours. Of course I slept more but that is as expected. I skipped the KLM dinner, I felt bloated form all the turbulence and went to sleep. According to SO it was not the best ever dinner that I missed. Just before we arrived in Amsterdam the stewardess came over to us with a bottle of champagne. They’d been given the meddage that this was our (belated) holiday. We really did appreciate it.

We arrived at Schiphol around 6.00 and after we got the suitcases and stuff we were really homeward bound. It feels strange to arrive home on a Monday around 7.30. The house was empty, but enveloped us as nothing else but your own home can do. My FIL had been doing some gardening so it was looking well kept. So well kept that our Japanese cherry tree bloomed. I did not even know we had a Japanese cherry tree, I love those trees! This year was the first time since we moved in that it showed all blossom as I had cut down all bush in front of it. It was as if we we welcomed home by our garden and house. Of course next stop; calling all parents and then the huge pile of mail. The there is the unpacking, sorting and laundry start. Grocery shopping as there was no food in the house. Besides the fresh air and spring sun was doing us a lot of good. Our holiday is over and life as we know it start up again.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Holiday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

