My jacket!

Pattern Description: From Burda 2006 Jacket for Boucle and I just loved the neckline. I had boucle so figured this was going to be a piece of cake. Cakes can be complex. Specifically if you have a sewing teacher that is rather precise.

Pattern Sizing: 36 in the back it could have been a little larger, it is snug

Instructions  I followed what my teacher said and she was easy enough to follow. The pattern was in typical Burda fashion impossible to understand without rereading every sentence about a dozen times. Plus as we changed the pattern significantly the instructions would only be useful in part

Fabric Used: The Boucle was the woolen unstable but pretty stuff I had bought in Lissabon on our wedding getaway. Lining was pink satin and stabiliser unbleached cotton.

Pattern alterations and design changes made: Where do we start? First there was the fact that I (read my teacher) wanted to line it, the Burda patterns isn’t.Then the fact that the boucle was highly unstable. So after cutting it out I had to overlock every piece to avoid it well unraveling. As cutting it had been a pain I had to handthread/tack all seams before I put it together. Then I had to stabilise the fabric further using unbleached stiff cotton. Which of course needed to be hand sewn onto the pieces. This required me to redraw the front pieces into two pieces for the lining. One part boucle, one part satin.

Once you are there, why stop? So we redesigned the bottom part to a peplum, to better fit my tush and look prettier for me. I also was not to fond of the idea of 6 large buttons, so I ended up with 2 invisible push buttons.

Did I make my life difficult? Yes. I had a awful lot of handwork done to it, but the fabric was worth it. I mean the original price had been 46 euro’s. Normally I would have been to afraid to cut it, but with my teacher there to hold my hand things worked out fine

Would you sew it again? No it is a very distinctive jacket. It has a great appeal, but because f its distinctiveness I think I should have only one. As for others yes sure – but take easier fabric than I did

Conclusion: I love the jacket and really really am very happy that it came out the way it did. But had I know what mission I would have gotten myself into. Well I would have done it again. My teacher is worth her weight in gold with this. That is why I go there, to do the things I am too chicken to do myself.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My jacket!

  1. Pingback: Finally Pictures! | Gilraensblog

  2. Trine says:

    Very nice! That fabric must have been horrible to work with! You got a really nice result, though! 🙂

    • Gilraen says:

      Thanks, it really was quite hard. The jacket took nearly a year to completion. Very glad when it was finished and very proud too.

Leave a Reply

