So what about the garden?

We have a garden. A small one, but a garden it is. The previous owner never cared too much for the garden. Except that he planted too many Hortensia’s But you know it is a garden.  and it needs work.

During our holiday my FIL took it upon himself to tidy up, and make it spring ready. Much appreciated, but made clear that we wanted something else, better, newer. We want a new garden.

So today we’d taken the day off and went to Appeltern. We’d never heard of it, but by chance we found out about it. My garden loving parents stated that it certainly was worth a visit for inspiration. So off we went on this sunny lovely Friday, going to get ourselves a new garden. And what did we see?

Gardens, gardens and more gardens. So much information and inspiration. No way all our inspiration is ever going to fit in our little garden. The backwall has been redesigned in our minds at least a dozen times. We’ll really need to make some decisions on what we really want. It seems we agree on that we want water, and other than that only the cat unfriendly part is a certainty. Don’t get me wrong I like cats, just not the ones pooing in my garden, so we’d like to keep them out. So next step is making selection and then getting a garden designer in.

But you know what, this garden once finished is going to be an awesome city garden. Small but peaceful and still fun to be in.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So what about the garden?

  1. Pingback: And so we wait | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

