Visions

Since I was born I have been a regular visitor to the eye doctor/surgeon and optician. I have had glasses from the age of two. I know the drill.

From the age of 12 to 17 I did not wear my glasses. Call it the intrusion of puberty then. From 17 onward I wore them mostly during study, work and driving. Other times I did not wear them to ensure that my lazy eye did not become totally redundant. Of course this was also helping in the vanity stakes. I admit that.

Over the last few months I noticed that I could not fully work without glasses at all. Even during the weekend I started wearing them. If I did not, a splitting headache told me I was in the wrong. At the same time I had to check out the food legislation as I was convinced, as many generations before me, that the writing on the food labels had gotten smaller (even used a ruler once). I sadly noted no changes in the letter sizing rules had taken place, hence I had to conclude; my eyes were letting me down.

As I do know the drill I managed to get tot the best optician in town when it was not hideously busy and had a lens measuring session. What I suspected was confirmed. I needed new glasses. Not only had my eyes for the first time in 10 years deteriorated a bit, old age also had left its mark. Right on the theoretical dot for my eye problems I was told I needed multifocal glasses i.e. reading glasses.

At the same time there was some good news. My left (lazy) eye had gone more lazy and will not need the expensive multifocal. According to my optician a waste of money as it only allows for the extra light, not extra vision.

I wanted to think it over, plus if I buy a new frame I want SO to be present. He needs to look at it. I just have to look through it. Today we went to the optician, nice and early so that it would not be busy. Of course it took an hour of waiting there before it was our turn. The place as said is the best in town and they will give each customer their full attention regardless of how many people are there.

So when we were finally seated and talked to the optician, I tried on several new frames. There was one frame I really liked but it was brown/green. Not really my colours. I tried on some more and ended up with a few nice frames. Most in the pink purple scheme and after a bit of a search she found the first frame in pink/purple (was on a different table) as well. After trying all of them quickly one-after-the-other I decided on the first frame in pink/purple. In two weeks I have new glasses. My old frame will then be set with a multifocal as well as a spare (cheaper, heavier lenses).

Other than that I have been having visions of an ice cream making machine in my kitchen. I tried a recipe today for strawberry/yoghurt ice cream, but without a machine it ended up with too many ice crystals to be really nice. So I think we need one. SO and I have been discussing this luxury for a while and now I think I want one really badly. Just need to figure out where we are going to store it when not in use. But as SO pointed out, we have a large kitchen, it should work itself out.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Food, Home life, shopping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Visions

  1. Pingback: Beauty is in the ice of the beholder | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

