Beauty is in the ice of the beholder

Yep, after my attempt with the strawberry ice-cream we came to the conclusion that this was just not our thing.

At least not the procedure that was used. I mean I love ice-cream. I love the stuff. And I have been privileged to taste many an interesting flavour. In restaurants and with friends. Some who have a passion for home ice-cream and some that (have) develop(ed) interesting flavours for a living. Anyway it is clear that the vision of an ice-cream maker should become reality at some stage.

SO needed to go into town today to pick up his shirts. Just around the corner from there is the most dangerous store in the Netherlands DOK cookware. Short of the local Apple iCentres it is easily the place where SO and I tend to part with money easiest and without buyers remorse.  We are very aware of our general lack of willpower when it comes to this store so we do not enter it lightly. But today we did.

We wanted a simple ice-cream maker. You know something simple nothing fancy or over the top. I did want a dual bowl so that the inner core goes into the freezer not the whole bowl. Not too fond of freezeburn. Well we succeeded to an extent. See the simple one can only make one flavour at a time. So when we saw the twin version we were sold. It has two bowls and both are dual.

So now we have an ice-cream maker. For now it is testing our patience as the bowls need to stay in the freezer at least 24 hours. Planning on ice-cream making for Monday as we are out skating tomorrow. Selected flavours Vanilla and Nutella. For those of you in the know; any interesting suggestions?

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Food, Home life, Weekend and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Beauty is in the ice of the beholder

  1. Anonymous says:

    Gosh! so many possibilities.. I would need a Brief first 😉

    • Gilraen says:

      A creamy ice-cream that is not as heavy as the ones we have found so far. They tasted awesome but are very very heavy. Mostly frozen well flavoured packs of cream 🙂

  2. miekje says:

    I have an icecream machine (remember it was the Azo wedding gift for my first wedding?) I always end up making ginger icecream (basically a vanilla icecream with added chopped ginger and its syrup from the jar). I routinely substitute the whole cream with lighter non-dairy cream. That does however make the icecream a bit softer with larger ice crystals. Adding an extra egg yolk will improve the texture. Or investigate recipes containing soy lecithin as an emulsifier.

    • Gilraen says:

      Thanks for the tip.I had forgotten that you are also in the ice-cream making team. We are certainly going to try this substitution thing!
      Next step though fruity sorbet simply because there is so much wonderful fruit around and I really like that in a sorbet.

  3. miekje says:

    Mmmmm, raspberry sorbet…

  4. Pingback: New flavours | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

