Why is it

Why is it that all appliances break down on inconvenient days?

Sure there are no real convenient days, but some are worse than others. This morning I sorted out the laundry. Due to my Korean trip our laundry schedule was a little out of whack and I had more than usual (about 1.5 weeks worth) Nicely sorted I decided to start the laundry with a light coloured load. So off I went to the washing machine holding the laundry in my right hand and opened the door with my left. That is when the door became unstuck.

“Help” I yelped to SO in my sweetest, please help me voice. SO still a bit sleepy said with what? ” Help” I yelped again. I am one hand short. SO came to the rescue. He held the door its somewhat precarious position and I managed to get the laundry load into the machine. The hinge to the door had broken partially off the door, due to break off by its second hinge as the weight was too much. What to do?

We put the door into the round washing machine hole and decided to call the washing machine place. They told us to unscrew the door and come to their place. Well we did. Of course we had to hunt the correct screwdriver down. SO has just about every type of screwdriver imaginable. Which in this case was good as the screws were of the not-so-often-used kind. So after finding all screwdrivers over three floors we had the right one and the door was screwed off without a hitch.

Then it was off to the washing machine place. Yep they think they can repair it. It will take until Friday though, See everything is closed on Saturday and this coming Monday is Pentecost a statutory holiday, so the order would be placed Tuesday. Oh bummer. SO asked could we still use the door on one hinge (as it will close). The lady said she would not recommend it and besides the door would have to stay there in order to be repaired.

So here we are; a laundry basket full of laundry., a door-less washing machine and another “why do these things happen on inconvenient days” episode.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why is it

  1. Pingback: LOL | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

