shorts

For the longest time I did not have shorts. Partly because of historical reasons partly because I never got round to sewing some. As per usual I do not do things by halves and started with three pairs of shorts

Pattern Description: I used my pants pattern, just shortened it where I wanted the shorts to finish. As the pattern flares this works out just fine. Plus it saved me from the dreaded having to remeasure everything and calculate a new crotch curve. Oh and I was a bit lazy about it.

Fabric Used: All were cottons. One hot pink, the second navy blue with white polka dots and the last aqua with white polka dots. Plus white trimming and blue buttons

The hot pink one; The first one made has a trim at the bottom as it was a bit shorter than anticipated, but it gave a really nice effect. This is the most basic of the three. I like it that way. It is really comfy and I feel very alive in it

The dark blue polka dot: I like the trim on the pink one so I kept it for the second (navy blue polka dot) one, and made it even longer and two layers The inner layer pink that I folded back and secured and two faux blue buttons on the side made it work. I also made pockets on them from the same navy fabric, with a hot pink trim at the top. Really cute that way

The aqua blue polka dot The third one I did not use the same finish but used a white trim, which I also used on the pockets.Makes this one look playful I think

So all three shorts look very different yet are the same pattern

Conclusion: I love the fact that I have shorts again. The look fun and summery and are mainly for beach and around the house.So glad I finally did this! The only drawback. Summer ended early so I have not worn the much

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to shorts

  1. Pingback: Finally Pictures! | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

