Yoga

I have been ‘into’ yoga for quite some time now. In fact it started by accident when I changed jobs and had a week off in NZ I had wanted to do a Pilates day class, but was too early and ended up in the yoga class. I was hooked! Loved it. Since then I have been doing yoga. Usually once or twice a week, sometimes less if life decided to throw a hissy fit.

Over the last few years the hissy fits of life have been rather frequent and as most people do it was the exercise and in my case specifically the yoga that suffered. In part as I had already, since moving here, changed to once a week. With Health and Sports I paid per week and could do what I wanted, this was for me a great way to do more, including my other fun part aquarobics and swimming. Plus at the time being away from home was an added bonus. Over here the aquarobics and swimming never happened as the classes and open swim times are crowded and that is something I do not enjoy

Over the last months I was noticing less flexibility. Initially this was related to different sports that sort of were the opposite of yoga. Reducing the length of muscles. My cycling and walking. But really toward the end of last year it was more due to not enough yoga. If you don’t use it you lose it. Then of course our holiday. No yoga for 7 weeks and really a lot of good food left their holiday mark. I decided it was time to take matters into my own hands again.

Doing yoga when I get home trials had failed miserably, unless of course it was my class.  So I knew this was not a good option for me. So instead I opted to add it to the other side of the day. Get up, do yoga, have breakfast. It meant getting up earlier, where of course spring season helped. Much to my own surprise this actually agreed with my life very well indeed. Being a morning person by nature of course helps. But thus far in my life morning exercise had always been rather off-putting. The few times I tried it I ended up feeling tired all day. But that has not happened. I think it has something to do with the fact that I am not working out for hours. 30 minutes at most.

It also depends on what I am doing the rest of the day. Walking to work/station, yoga in the evening or nothing. So these days about 5 times a week (sometimes more) I get up and do my yoga for 10-30 minutes.  On a yoga class day only 10 minutes. If it is a day that I do nothing else 25-30 minutes. And once a week nothing to recover.

All holiday stuff was gone pretty quickly and my muscles are looking much better again. Added bonus: my digestive system/blood circulation is kick started and as a result my appetite actually decreased. Plus I have more energy, am less stressed and feel better physically. My shower is less long in the mornings, after all my blood is already racing through my system and I don’t need it to wake up. My physical flexibility is nearly back where I want it to be. The only drawback is that I have to wash my hair more, because I sweat more.

Loving all the results I see and feel at present and though it is not perfect yet, the fact that I can do all asanas that I used to be able to again is a great feeling. The other parts, feeling more energetic, less stressed etc are what I hoped it would do. I am still adding new poses, even some that are more Pilates based. Loving it and wished I would have started this sooner, to me it sure was a change for the better.

P.S. I even managed to keep it up in Korea. I do credit it for keeping my sanity that week.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Sports and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yoga

  1. Pingback: Just because it is christmas | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

