It is not the season

Here we are; July 2011 and I am sitting on the couch wearing one of SOs sweatshirts, PJ’s and NZ wooly slippers in the evening. Whereas the agreement was to go skietsing this evening. What happened?

No I am not ill. Nothing wrong with me really. Just unseasonal weather today. I mean really unseasonal. Yesterday I walked to work and I got mildly wet in the morning. This morning however was a different story. I left early when there was a break in the rain that had taken a hold of the country. For half the trip (by bike) it was windy, clear or drizzle. The second half was somewhat different. In fact it was hosing down. I was drenched by the time I got in. Took most of the morning to dry out.

The return trip was worse. It was raining cats and dogs all the way. Plus a stiff wind head on gale. I was drenched by the time I got home. My rain suit was dripping on the floor as were my pants and my coat and well me really. Glasses totally fogged up as I delicately tried to get out of my wet gear without causing flooding in my hallway. I went straight upstairs for a shower (I was freezing cold) and get into comfy clothes.

And over here it was not even the worst. We had a lot of rain, others had more of a deluge. So we had to cancel the skietsen. It is not safe for the boys, plus really you don’t want to be outside full stop. So tonight it feels as if it is October instead of July. Tomorrow should be better, but all in all summer is turning into autumn unseasonably early according to the news

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It is not the season

  1. miekje says:

    Same weather here! I am also wearing wool: my own handknitted sweater (http://www.flickr.com/photos/26418409@N07/5460380989/in/photostream) and my own handknitted socks (http://www.flickr.com/photos/26418409@N07/4911960759/in/photostream). Didn’t you say you had some wool to knit up? A great activity for a rainy day 🙂

    • Gilraen says:

      Great stuff! Love love love the sweater. Yep I am knitting again – a scarf for SO – Just getting slowly back into it. Hadn’t done any knitting for 15 years or so 🙂
      I love knitting on the couch when watching TV – feeling less couch pototat then as at least I am doing something useful

  2. miekje says:

    I also hadn’t knit for almost 20 years but I am fully back into it. Check out Ravelry, an online community for knitters and crocheters. Lots of free patterns too and you can post your own projects and see other people’s. An interesting aside which both you and SO would enjoy: Ravelry beat Facebook and Twitter to this year’s .NET award for best online community :-).

Leave a Reply

