Bummed out

We went to Hoek van Holland today. Of course by bike and SO on his skeelers. A 53km roundtrip.

It was a lovely day and I had decided to take the bags, to train having wight on my bike. Things we smooth and as we progressed, the weather turned nicer at every corner. Sure on the way there we had headwind and I was pretty glad that we were not moving topspeed. It was a peddle alright. The additional weight was more than anticipated.

In the bags I had put IKEA fleece blankets and old sheets. Plus of course our jackets and SO’s slippers for the lunch break. The blankets came in really handy, as it was not very warm where we were seated. SO had not taken his sweatpants and took to the fleece instead. I was fine as I was wearing my longer yoga pants instead of shorts.

After lunch the sun was wonderful and the trip home was beautiful and for me pretty OK. Unfortunately the same could not be said for SO. He’s had a minor strain in his bottom. A deep injury which has been attacked by the physiotherapist. This injury was annoying him from the second we got up after lunch all the way back. It is a painful irritating injury and SO was very brave. I think I was the only one that read his face. He did confirm it was his bottom.

After that trip, we had no choice but to decide that a 3-4 day trip on skates was simply not a good idea. It would be no fun for him and rather painful. Poor SO really was very disappointed having to make that decision and to really be logical and sensible. I was disappointed too, but really SO’s health to me is more important than the trip.

So we are still going to take a trip. Just not like we’d hoped. We are taking a week’s break. And are going to relax. I sure hope that this is only temporary as it is no fun to see the one you love in pain.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Feelings, Friends, Holiday, Sports, Weekend and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bummed out

  1. miekje says:

    Two words: cortisol injection… I know these injuries can be very painful and take a long time to heal. I hope you enjoy your break inspite of this.

  2. Gilraen says:

    SO thanks you for the suggestion but says butt injection; no way 😉 It will get better with rest and exercise

Leave a Reply

