Introducing my sewing buddy

One thing I have found, now more than once, is that a sewing buddy can really help to start and continue a project.

In NZ of course there was Em first. We started sewing more or less at the same time and together and we had some interesting sewing weekends. Then there was/is T. First in NZ and still she is around, Though she lives too far way to be a regular buddy just seeing her on occasion talking fabric is fun.

Now I am introducing M. She is in my sewing class. We studied at the same university (though a few years apart) and we have the same sense of humour. Now during weeks that there are no sewing classes we sew together. Just to keep momentum going and to help each other.

It is kinda funny. In her eyes I am quite advanced in my sewing. I don’t feel that advanced but certainly have done a lot more that she has. To be honest I am still very much learning new stuff from our teacher and unlearning a few bad habits I picked up along the way. It is just that I now know all to well how to read patterns. And being able to see the 2D-3D conversion is also an asset.

I am definitely sewing more (yes the camera is charged and I will take pictures) now with one evening a week almost religiously. It gives both M and me the focus we need. Usually I have two projects A home project and a class project It is sort of time dependent which moves fastest. See I have also taken the odd day off to sew. Loving those days. Just feel too guilty doing it too often which of course is nonsense.

Anyway M is my sewing buddy and as such she may feature in the blog on a regular basis. (Still missing my other sewing buddies though)

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Friends, Home life, Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Introducing my sewing buddy

  1. Trine says:

    How lovely to have a regular sewing buddy! Congratulations! 🙂
    And I can see from your recent picture posts, that you are really getting stuff done!
    My sewing machine is at the workshop, being fixed. It got out of sync during my Viking costume sewing marathon. Ironically enough, it did the hard work (the tent) without a single complaint, and then broke down when I was making a cheesecloth shift… Weird. But the workshop guy was very confident that he could fix it, so I am not too worried. 🙂

  2. Gilraen says:

    I hope he can fix it! After all it was your machine that made me look at Pfaff. Hopefully it is just the timing or something.

Leave a Reply

