Bread

I have always loved the smell and taste of freshly baked bread. So I thought I would bake, hoping that some of the bakery genes had not bypassed me completely. (My great great grandfather/mother and her relatives were bakers apparently).

In the past, in NZ, I took the easy way. I had a bread machine. Throw in flour (preferably a premix) , close lid and you end up with a bread. Easy peasy and it smells great. But I left it behind in NZ and really I had been using it less and less as it was not really real IMO. Too easy, too idiot proof and the smell was less intense than I liked.

Over here, well we have a fantastic bakery just a few hundred metres form here, and on my way home. So there is no real need. Yet I really felt the wish to get my hands into something douhgy. So I embarked on this quest, this thing, with Jamie Oliver as my guide.

My first trial was a premix – ready to roll. That was easy and nice. Next step a mix which needed a bit more work. Again very nice. Third try we do it from scratch, for real. Not that good really. Added the salt too late – and not enough. I managed to knock it when it had risen for the second time.  It was dense and not very nice.

Today the bread was pretty decent. Definitely more like the real thing. I am getting there. The bread is very nice. Not quite perfect but pretty good. There is significant improvement. I am getting there and as I am making more bread I will master this too.Next step – better flour for the bread.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Food, Home life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bread

  1. Wesley says:

    This reminds me of my former bread making adventures. I one made sour dough that was so hard, when my sister tried to cut a slice the knife slid down the crust and cut her hand. Another attempt (this time at culinary school) I forgot salt altogether and made the driest, most tasteless bread ever created. Not saying it was always a miss, but it certainly could have been better. Bread is a hard thing to master. Good luck to you.

    • Gilraen says:

      I was warned that bread can be tricky. Apart from bread it is also the oven that you need to know well. Getting to understand mine more and more

Leave a Reply

