Date night

Yesterday SO and I had a date night. Not something we are accustomed to, but really it was fun. We’d both wanted to see the last Harry Potter in the cinema in 3D. We’d missed the first part of the deathly hallows in the cinema and I did regret it. We had an easy Saturday just bumming around and we took an early showing (16.50) and went out for dinner afterward.

The reason for the showing time was as we expected it not to be too busy during standard Dutch dinner time. Plus it being the third or fourth week of the movie. We were right. The cinema was not very full, with about 40 people I think.

The movie itself; What to think of it? Well I loved it to be honest. The magical fight scenes are amazing, well done and fun. Not surprising the young actors have gotten better over the years and the story is captivating. Of course Alan Rickman is wonderful as Snape. But then again I always think of Rickman as an excellent actor (and sexy too).  Ralph Fiennes as Voldemort is also brilliant. The increase despair when horcruxes are found is very cool.

Anything negative?  Well I heard SO mutter “orcs” a few times and the storming of Hogwarts does bring back Helm’s Deep memories.  But that is really the only thing that I can think of.

After the movies SO and I went for dinner to Les Copains. To get there from the theatre is approximately 250 m. Very close, but enough to get pretty soaked that night. The restaurant was very nice. We both had lobster (me half, him whole) and I had a desert of Pannacotta with raspberry sauce, raspberries and raspberry sorbet. Delish, but it made me go burp on the way home. All I could do afterward is roll into bed and fall asleep. It was a lovely date night and we both enjoyed it tremendously.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Food, Friends, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Date night

  1. I’ve been nosing around and want to read all of your posts but it’s late and the house is quiet so I can hear myself typing – not good must sneak off to bed – even the cats are sleeping. Thank you for reminding me how important date nights are – note to self get back into the programme! Oh and Alan Rickman is a joy……ahhhhhh – have you seen Truly, Madly, Deeply? If you haven’t try to find it – quite old now but worth sourcing if a bit quirky. I look forward to reading lots more of your post – hitting the subscribe button now. P/S I’m new to this blogging thingy and your list of tags is amazing – only just recently started using them myself (just figured it out) – however your list makes me wonder what I’ve been doing with my life? Very extensive!

    I look forward to reading more about your journey. Thank you and keep the posts coming.

    Jacqueline

  2. Gilraen says:

    Thank you for your nice comment – the tags will grow as you blog more. In fact I have to watch it, as they can get out of control if you are not careful 🙂
    I have seen Truly Madly Deeply. Years ago and loved it. In fact your comment reminded me to put it onto my birthday wishlist.

Leave a Reply

