How to really fail at breadmaking

Duh, here’s me. When talking bread I am always the one to point out the pro’s and con’s of salt in bread. It is obvious you need it. Without it the bread is not very nice as it lacks taste. However too much salt and the yeast will not work properly. I, of all people, know this.

I am still trying to get to the perfect bread, without using a pre-mix. Knowing the above salt status my baking adventure today was somewhat stupid on my part. Early(ish) in the morning I started with a bread. I had promised SO bread for lunch. The bread rising this time was wonderful. After the first rise I rolled it, with a pin. Don’t know what possessed me but I did. The shape of the bread was pretty cool. The second rise was somewhat disappointing. It was also very sweet and not enough salt. The sweetness I put down to the addition of the maize flour and the salt, well that needed to be upped, no pinrolling ever again! The bread was unceremoniously put in the worth a try bin.

As it was still early I made a second one. No pinrolling I had decided Somehow the rise simply was very disappointing. It had not quite doubled in size so I carefully shaped it. After baking it was dreadfully salty! Upon checking the ingredients I found that I had halved all ingredients except the sugar and salt. In effect killing my yeast!

I was so disappointed that I made a cake, at least I can do that! Tomorrow I will try again.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Food, Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to really fail at breadmaking

  1. Pingback: Did two things that frightened me | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

