my little corner of the world

This weekend was easy going and nothing much doing. Ok so I baked two breads (one wonderful) and we went into the dangerous blue and yellow place around the corner.

Yes I speak of the IKEA. dreaded for it’s you come back with more than you thought you needed syndrome and yes it hit us. You see I have a sewing corner of the world. It is in our lounge with a beautiful NZ view. But it is a mess. 

All my projects (sewing, knitting and embroidery) are in plastic bags and you can imagine that starts to look rather messy. SO is not very appreciative of the look but accepts it as he knows how much pleasure it gives me. Besides we were going to buy me a beautiful cupboard there.

Let’s be honest. That has not happened yet, that beautiful cupboard thing. I am sewing more and the mess keeps pace with the more sewing, perfectly linear relationship. SO endured. The the IKEA flyer arrived at our home and he noticed the Expedit to be on sale. He gently put it to me that this potentially would be a cheap and easy solution until we had decided what we were really going to do. In order to really make it work some baskets in it or something. He had a point. So off we went.

As it was one of those very rare sunny days it was actually doable on a Saturday. People soaked up the sun. We saw many things that we liked but ultimately we ended up with expedit anyway. With boxes and of course some other things. A hallway mirror (finally) Stuff we could not love without for storage in the kitchen and another cabinet. Also for my sewing corner. The rest of the afternoon and part of the evening I spent putting it all together. Today I moved everything around. All my projects are now in the boxes as is my stabilizer and other handcrafty things. Everything that was stored in our dressoir is now in Micke or thrown out. My fabric (stash is much less than I thought) is now in the dressoir and therefore easy to get to. My overlocker is also upstairs in my sewing corner now instead of under the stairs. Hopefully this will mean me using it more. I also finished my dress, but that is for another blogpost.

I am sore though. Putting IKEA together always makes you do things to your body that it is not used to. But I love putting the stuff together. It was for me and also it is really grateful work. You so very quickly see the result.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

