Velvet dress

You know when you buy fabric that you really really love but you haven’t got a clue what it wants to become? I have some of that in my stash. More than a few pieces. but sometimes you see a pattern and all of a sudden you see a match.

This is what happened with this fabric and this dress. In 2009 I found the pattern, yes that far back. At the time I did not have time to sew it and left it, though I really did like it. Recently though M. and continued sewing through the ‘school’ holiday and I needed a simpler pattern than I was making and this pattern came to mind. Took me some time to relocate it of course.

So there I was, shopping in my stash and as I opened the door I saw this fabric and knew instantly that this was my match made in sewing heaven. M instantly fell in love with the pattern too. So I went through all usual steps; measuring, tracing, cutting. Carefully going in between lines to get to my variety in sizes.Ā  The cutting of the fabric gave me some worries as I thought it would be a hard fabric to work with. I expected lip, slidin’ away type sewing. Thankfully that proved not as bad as expected.

I was careful with the nap, the fabric being a poly velvet and it worked perfectly. I decided to do the gathering by hand to avoid major irritation when sewing – good move. I then placed the top front layer on top of the under front later and also hand basted those together – again good move.

Sewing after that was a breeze and easy to do. I lifted the back panel up a little to allow my swayback to be integrated. Most of it was taken care of by full darts and with the 1 cm lift up I managed to get 90% of the swayback integrated. Decided that was enough.

The sleeves I did with some basting handsewing again, Just to take a little bit more time, made my life easier and less stressful. Though it was not major slippery it did slip and curled at the edges. SO helped with the hem.

I think I have a wonderful christmas dress ready for this year. Very exciting

Pattern Description: Mock wrap dress Burda 05/2009 Model 120

Pattern Sizing: top 36 bottom 44

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes it did, just different fabric

Were the instructions easy to follow? Did not use them It was an easy enough pattern

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Likes the flowy feel and the gathering. The pattern was simple yet interesting

Fabric Used: poly multi coloured velvet, which looks far more expensive than it was. Pretty and interesting

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Well look at the sizes šŸ™‚ I used all needed changes in between

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would recommend it as it is easy. I am not sure if I would make it again, Because it is an easy to recognise pattern, Maybe I’ll make one with short sleeves in a thinner fabric as it is dead pretty

Conclusion:Love it

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Velvet dress

  1. Trine says:

    As you know, our tastes in fabric differ, and I would have passed this byin the shop, but you’ve managed to make it into a dress that fits you very, very well. It looks very comfortable too, I’m sure you will have a very nice Christmas party in it! šŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Another christmas dress | Gilraensblog

  3. Pingback: Double weekend | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

