All of a sudden I could not live without

Yesterday I had meeting in Amersfoort. Nothing major in itself. Just a one-and-a-half-hour train trip to there and of course back again. But just about the whole train trip I had the chorus of “this is how you remind me” in my head. Fun and annoying at the same time.

So half the train trip I was trying to recall who sang it. My last bet was Matchbox twenty. How wrong I was. Walking home from the train station on a glorious post summer day I enjoyed watching people. I enjoyed watching my city in the sun and every time it was there again; “this is how you remind me, of what I really am., yeah yeah”

Now I fully am aware that the rest of the song has no bearing on the enjoyment that came with the meme, but it just stuck and gave me even more enjoyment walking through town. Remembering every time how happy I feel and how lucky I am. First thing I did when I got home was to find our who the artist is. Nickleback, not Matchbox Twenty. Hmmm I then realised I did not have that song. Ohhhhhhhhhhh must have, and must have it now!!!! Can’t live another second without it.

iTunes then is really the best thing for instant gratification and only a few second later my CC was filled and I had the track on my computer. I felt instant happiness. But then of course I want to find some Matchbox Twenty songs and some others that I really really needed there and then. I ended up with 5 more songs.

Loving the ones I got, but really was this not just another form of shopping too much? After all I could not live without one song and now I have 6. Well fed my music need. Think I am going to listen a bit more to them as I do really like them. But I could have lived without 4 of them.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, shopping and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to All of a sudden I could not live without

  1. Emily says:

    Heh. I do like some Nickelback too, despite this meme that was going around as a Facebook post: “Warning: If you see a link that offers you free tracks from Nickleback’s new album DO NOT CLICK ON IT!!!! It actually goes to a link with free tracks from Nickleback’s new album. ***PLEASE REPOST***”

    Also, if it makes you feel better about buying all that music, it’s the gift that keeps on giving – you can share the files with several of your friends under the iTunes terms of purchase, and every time you listen, it gives you and others pleasure. So, really, it’s a good investment!

  2. draliman says:

    I also suffer from “I suddenly can’t live without” syndrome! When I first discovered iTunes and Amazon MP3 downloads, it was like a whole new world opened up to me. Everything looks so cheap, and all sorts of songs I “really needed” popped into my mind. Of course, when my credit card bill arrived, it consisted of pages of music downloads, and it’s amazing how lots and lots of “£0.79” charges soon add up to a rather unfortunate sum!

    • Gilraen says:

      Yes, the add up function of money is a scary one, specifically because of the ease of use. Usually things have to stick with me for more than a week before I buy them. This however was different. Oh well we all have splash out sometimes.

Leave a Reply

