Warning, this is a rant!

OK so I know fashion changes and fashion is one of those things that never pleases everybody. But some of the current trends really really are on my really dislike list.

The one I really do not like are the animal prints. Sure they are always around but currently it seems we all need to be dressed like some wild exotic animal that is close to getting extinct. As if by dressing like an animal that is due to get extinct we envisage rescuing it or something. Or even worse a wish to return to the caveman days when we had to wear animals as there was nothing else.

Some call animal print classy, but really I have rarely seen anybody in a classy animal print. Sure there are a tiny some, but the large majority are not. They simply look as a moniker to hide behind the fierceness of the animals. To adopt perceived strength and/or pride. I simply feel that animal prints look best on the animal. Not on humans.

Maybe it is because I grew up with the thought that all real animal fur are second hand coats that I loath the animal prints so much. Maybe it is is because I think it is a lack of imagination for designers. Maybe it is because I think that it has something to do with returning to caveman times. But I really really do not like them and I for one, am this year officially fed up with retail wanting to shove this down our throats as THE fashion thing of this year.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, shopping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Warning, this is a rant!

  1. Emily says:

    It’s very annoying for me, this trend, because I DO like animal prints and I have collected several very flattering animal print items. But now it is splattered everywhere! And it is often very badly done – it takes time and trouble for me to find a good quality animal print in flattering colors. So, yes, my own animal print can stay in the closet this year until everybody recovers.

    • Gilraen says:

      So we agree. Neither of us wearing animal prints this season because the fasion/retail industry is trying to make us wear them 😉

Leave a Reply

