Autumn coming in.

Autumn is slowly creeping up on us, Very slowly as after a totally drowned and crap summer were now have the most wonderful afterthought. An Indian summer.

You know that time of year when light is dimming and not as bright anymore, but gentle and so there. The sun is still very much part of life during the day, but the evenings are cooling fast. Still you are still able to bask in the sunlight for a while. Leaves are showing off the first hits of autumn. Streaks of yellow and red appear in the trees, the dark green is fading. Life feels as if it is making itself up for its resting phase.

Yesterday I saw a cat purring in the rays of sunshine, then getting up and starting to roll around in the first fallen yellow leaves, presumably to get rid of an itch. It was such a nice little thing to see, that I could not help but to smile. Walking through the city doing my shopping was intensely enjoyable. People look happy seeing the sun for a bit after that dreadful summer. A giddy happy atmosphere is all over town. The only drawback? Well somehow everybody wanted to be where I was. I understand it, but was glad to be home again, with SO and in the peace that is our own place.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Autumn coming in.

  1. alissasart says:

    I love this time of year too, thank you for evoking it so beautifully.

    • Gilraen says:

      Thank you for the compliment. Changing of seasons is just one of those little wonders of nature that never cease to amaze me.

  2. Emily says:

    Yes, after visiting you in Delft, I can just picture the scene!

Leave a Reply

